LIVRAISON GRATUITE : Québec et Ontario à partir de 40$ - Canada à partir de 70$ FREE DELIVERY: Montreal from $ 35 l Quebec from $ 45

Za & Klo Torréfactrices

Klassic Klo

$20.50

Bernardo Pacheco, like Juan Jose Torres (see our café that bears his name) is a teacher and coffee producer from the indigenous Xinka community and member of the “Cafe Colis Resistencia”.

With the income he earns as a teacher, Bernardo has been able to invest in equipment to pulp, dry and ferment his coffee himself. These investments allow it to improve the quality of its coffees, in addition to selling in microlots on the international market at competitive prices in contrast to the sale to local intermediaries who buy their coffees at prices that barely cover the salary. workers.

The indigenous Xinka community and the Cafe Colis Resistencia 

The Xinka are an indigenous group in the Mataquescuintla region whose existence is not recognized by the government of Guatemala.

In 2008, the opening of the "Escobal silver mine" was approved without permission from the Xinka, contrary to the United Nations Convention on the Declaration of the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. The mine threatens the cleanliness of the land, water and air in their territory.

As early as 2003, the Xinka community formed the Cafe Colis Resistencia, a peaceful resistance, which first seeks recognition of their rights and now has the main objective of blocking access to the mines. In 2013, Bernardo was part of the peaceful resistance camp as police, hidden inside the mines, arrested members of the group in addition to confiscating their vehicles. However, since 2017, thanks to resistance, the mine has been closed.

The development of the Escobal mine is supported by the Canadian company Pan American Silver, which claims on its website to build and operate mines responsibly.

Buying Bernardo Pacheco's coffee is also a gesture to support Cafe Colis Resistencia, which works to recognize the rights of the Xinkan community.

Le Klassic Klo

Klassic Klo is a blend of our Brazil Honey and this exceptional coffee produced by Bernardo Pacheco. It is enveloping with notes of grapes, oatmeal pancake and dark chocolate. It is excellent in French press, latte and espresso!

 

Recommended settings:

  • Quantity of coffee in the cup: 16g of coffee per 250ml
  • Temperature: 200 F

Recommended espresso settings:

  • Quantity of ground coffee: 18.5g
  • Quantity of coffee in the cup: 37g
  • Extraction time: 30 seconds
en

Za & Klo Torréfactrices

Klassic Klo

$20.50

Bernardo Pacheco, tout comme Juan Jose Torres (voir notre café qui porte son nom) est un professeur et producteur de café de la communauté indigène Xinka et membre de la « Cafe Colis Resistencia ».

Grâce au revenu qu’il gagne en tant que professeur, Bernardo a pu investir dans de l’équipement afin de dépulper, sécher et fermenter lui-même son café. Ces investissements lui permettent d’améliorer la qualité de ses cafés, en plus de vendre en microlot sur le marché international à des prix compétitifs en contraste avec la vente à des intermédiaires locaux qui achètent leurs cafés à des prix qui ne couvrent à peine le salaire des travailleurs.

La communauté indigène Xinka et la Cafe Colis Resistencia 

Les Xinka sont un groupe indigène de la région de Mataquescuintla dont l’existence n’est pas reconnue par le gouvernement du Guatémala.

En 2008, l’ouverture de la «Escobal silver mine » a été approuvé sans l’autorisation des Xinka, contrairement à la convention des Nations Unies sur la déclaration des droits des peuples indigènes. La mine menace la propreté de la terre, de l’eau et de l’air de leur territoire.

Dès 2003, la communauté Xinka a formé la Cafe Colis Resistencia, une résistance pacifique, qui vise d’abord à faire reconnaître leurs droits et qui a maintenant pour objectif principal de bloquer les accès aux mines. En 2013, Bernardo faisait partie du camp de résistance pacifique alors que la police, cachée à l’intérieur des mines, procéda à des arrestations des membres du groupe en plus de confisquer leur véhicule. Cependant, depuis 2017, grâce à la résistance, la mine est fermée.

Le développement de la mine Escobal est soutenu par la compagnie canadienne Pan American Silver qui prétend, sur son site internet, construire et opérer des mines de façon responsable.

Acheter le café de Bernardo Pacheco, c’est aussi un geste pour supporter la Cafe Colis Resistencia qui travaille à faire reconnaître les droits de la communauté Xinkan.

Le Klassic Klo

Le Klassic Klo est un mélange de notre Brésil Honey et de cet exceptionnel café produit par Bernardo Pacheco. Il est enveloppant avec des notes de raisin, de galette à l’avoine et de chocolat noir. Il est excellent en presse française, en latte et en espresso!

 

Paramètres recommandés :

  • Quantité de café dans la tasse : 16g de café par 250ml
  • Température : 200 F

Paramètres recommandés pour l'espresso :

  • Quantité de café moulu : 18.5g
  • Quantité de café dans la tasse : 37g
  • Temps d'extraction : 30 secondes
fr